none

Talented employees with special qualifications and skills are in high demand on the labor market. The shortage of skilled workers in recent years has shown how important it is to retain, promote and find talent in the long term. Human resources management attributes therefore great importance to strategic talent management.

Table of content:

  1. Talent management definition
  2. Why is talent management important?
  3. Talent management model
  4. 5 talent management methods in the spotlight
  5. Two essential strategies in talent management
  6. Digital Talent Management Systems

Talent management definition

Talent management describes strategies, measures and methods used in companies to ensure that employees’ key positions or, more generally, qualifications are filled. Measures include planning, discovering, attracting, developing and retaining talent.

What a talent is, usually always corresponds to the definitions of organizations. Certain talents are often referred to as high potentials. High potentials are employees who, due to their special qualifications and personal characteristics, make a valuable contribution to the company’s value creation.

The following survey shows how differently talents can be defined and managed in organizations.

chart definition of talent management

How talent management is implemented depends on the company conditions and the strategy selection. Among other things, factors such as industry, corporate structure or the employees’ areas of responsibility determine how talent management is structured.

Info: Difference between Talent Management vs. Skill Management Although the two terms have seemingly similar meanings, there are clear differences. Talent Management deals with a holistic process that discovers, nurtures and wins talent, while skill management is primarily concerned with discovering talent.

Why is talent management important?

The goal of talent management is to possess, retain and promote qualified employees for the organization, both in the present and in the future, in order to ensure needed skill resources and manage fitting successions.

For this purpose, it is necessary to clarify which qualifications employees need to have to succeed with organizational goals. Job profiles or definitions of roles as part of career planning are therefore part of the prerequisites of talent management.

Making any competence gaps measurable in the form of skill-gap analyses or through other key figures, is necessary for strategic talent management and its HR controlling.

Talent management model

A talent management system can be represented in the form of a cycle. This cycle can omit individual steps, but as a whole, it illustrates the interaction of different personnel development measures.

talent management process circle

5 talent management methods in the spotlight

  • Succession planning
    Key positions are filled, promoted, and retained both internally and externally. Defining key competencies and creating a skill-gap analysis is necessary. Read more about succession planning here.
  • Career planning
    Defining job profiles and career steps to enable employees to pursue a career within the company and to retain more successful employees. More information on career planning can be found here.
  • Skill Management
    Identifying skills, finding employees with specific competencies and identifying training interests and skills gaps is one of the key features of skills management. Read more here.
  • Employer Branding
    Strengthening the employer brand e.g. on social media or communicating special features of the corporate culture on the company website, these are only two of many possibilities to strengthen the employer brand.
  • Further development
    Internal as well as external further education and training ensures that the increase in competences does not diminish and that talents are promoted. You can find out more about the training planning here.

Two essential strategies in talent management

Essentially, a distinction can be made between two approaches to talent management strategy.

High potential talent management strategy

This strategy aims to identify, promote and retain almost exclusively talented employees. Talent development is therefore primarily limited to a small group of people. This group of people usually corresponds to executives and key specialists with special skills, who are in high demand on the labor market and are indispensable for the fulfillment of corporate goals. Personnel development measures are therefore primarily geared to the needs of this group of people and often neglect to promote and develop other employees.

Holistic talent management strategy

The holistic talent management strategy does not deal with a focused group of people like the high potential strategy, but with all employees equally. The focus of this strategy is on the talents of individual employees and their individual development. In this context, talent is understood to mean that employees achieve above-average performance in individual disciplines. These talents are then considered and utilized in various work projects. Employees are often personally involved in this talent management strategy (employee engagement), for example through surveys in employee appraisals. The holistic talent management approach is often applied in agile structured organizations.

Digital talent management systems

Talent Management can be digitized in many HR processes and phases. It is important to find the right software for talent management. Since talent development can have different focuses as well as strategies depending on the organization, it is often a challenge to find the right talent management software.

The following, 4 criteria for the right talent management software.

  • Does my talent management strategy fit the software?
    Whether high potential, holistic, or any other talent management strategy, a strategy approach must be chosen before acquiring HR software that will be used for talent development. Often, that choice of talent management strategy is shaped by the existing or planned corporate culture.
  • Which processes or phases of talent management can I already map?
    As shown in the talent management model, there are different phases and processes that can be gone through. Often, some of them are already covered in HR development before a new HR system is purchased. Therefore, it is important to go through all phases of talent management and document which processes are already supported to find the appropriate complement.
  • What interfaces are needed?
    Since talent management is a process put together individually by the company and may require different personnel development measures, it is necessary to think about which data should be linked and where any interfaces are required.
  • How can the administrative burden be reduced?
    Developing talent also means fostering interpersonal relationships. After all, only employees who are satisfied with their work situation and prospects will remain loyal to the company. Interpersonal relationships, including those between HR managers and employees, are necessary to improve or adapt work situations and perspectives. In order to have time for this, it is necessary to keep the administrative effort of systems to a minimum. In order to have time for this, it is necessary to keep the administrative effort of systems to a minimum.

Talent management can be that easy.
Check out how smart and easy it is with Skilltree .

success icon

Your download has started!

Why have an Excel matrix when you can have a whole tree?
Try Skilltree for free and start growing your skills.

14 days free | No credit card required

success icon

Dein Download ist gestarted!

Warum eine Excel Matrix wenn man gleich einen ganzen Baum haben kann?
Probiere Skilltree
gratis aus und wachse mit all deinen Fähigkeiten.

14 Tage kostenlos | Keine Kreditkarte erforderlich

none

Talentierte Mitarbeitende welche über besondere Qualifikationen und Fähigkeiten auszeichnen, sind am Arbeitsmarkt sehr gefragt. Der Fachkräftemangel hat in den letzten Jahren gezeigt, wie wichtig es ist, Talente langfristig zu halten, fördern und zu finden. Im Personalmanagement wird daher dem strategischen Talent Management eine große Bedeutung zugeschrieben.

Inhalt:

  1. Talent Management Definition
  2. Warum Talent Management wichtig ist
  3. Talent Management HR-Modell
  4. 5 Talentmanagement Maßnahmen im Fokus
  5. 2 wesentliche Strategien im Talentmanagement
  6. Digitale Talent Management Systeme

Talent Management Definition

Talent Management, auch Talentmanagement geschrieben, beschreibt Strategien, Maßnahmen und Methoden, um in Unternehmen sicherzustellen, dass Schlüsselpositionen oder generell Qualifikationen von Mitarbeitenden besetzt bzw. gemeistert werden. Maßnahmen umfassen das Planen, Entdecken, Gewinnen, Entwickeln und Halten von Talenten.

Was ein Talent ist, entspricht in der Regel immer den Definitionen von Organisationen. Gewisse Talente werden oftmals auch als High Potentials bezeichnet. High Potentials sind Mitarbeitende welche durch besondere Qualifikationen und persönliche Eigenschaften, einen wertvollen Beitrag in der Unternehmenswertschöpfung realisieren.

Die nachfolgende Befragung zeigt, wie unterschiedlich Talente in Organisationen definiert und gemanagt werden kann.

Wie ein Talentmanagement umgesetzt wird, hängt demnach von Unternehmensbedingungen und der Strategieauswahl ab. So entscheiden unter anderem Faktoren wie etwa Branche, Unternehmensstruktur oder Aufgabenbereiche der Mitarbeitende, wie ein Talent Management aufgebaut ist.

Info: Unterschied Talent Management zu Skill Management: Obwohl die zwei Begriffe eine scheinbar ähnliche Bedeutung haben, gibt es klare Unterschiede. Talentmanagement befasst sich mit einem ganzheitlichen Prozess, welcher Talente entdeckt, fördert und gewinnt; während Skill Management sich primär mit dem Entdecken von Talenten befasst.

Warum Talent Management wichtig ist

Ziel des Talent Managements ist es, sowohl in der Gegenwart als auch in der Zukunft, qualifizierte Mitarbeitende für die Organisation zu besitzen, zu halten, zu fördern und passende Nachfolge zu gewährleisten.

Hierfür ist es notwendig zu klären, welche Qualifikationen Mitarbeitende benötigen, damit Organisationsziele umgesetzt werden können. Stellenprofile bzw. Definitionen von Rollen als Teil einer Laufbahnplanung sind daher ein Teil der Voraussetzungen eines Talent Managements.

Das Messbar machen von etwaigen Kompetenzlücken in Form von Soll-Ist-Vergleichen oder durch anderen Kennzahlen ist für ein strategisches Talentmanagement und dessen HR-Controlling notwendig.

Talent Management Modell

Ein Talentmanagement System kann in Form eines Kreislaufes dargestellt werden. Dieser Kreislauf kann einzelne Schritte auslassen, verdeutlicht aber als Ganzes, die Zusammenwirkung unterschiedlicher Personalentwicklungsmaßnahmen.

Quelle: skilltree

5 Talent Management Maßnahmen im Fokus

  • Nachfolgeplanung.
    Schlüsselpositionen werden intern sowie extern nachbesetzt, gefördert und gehalten. Das Definieren von Schlüsselkompetenzen und dem Erstellen eines Soll-Ist-Vergleichs ist notwendig. Mehr zu Nachfolgeplanung gibt es hier.
  • Laufbahnplanung
    Definieren von Stellenprofilen und Karriereschritte, um Mitarbeitenden eine Karrierelaufbahn im Unternehmen zu ermöglichen und erfolgreicher Mitarbeitende zu halten. Mehr Informationen zur Laufbahnplanung gibt es hier.
  • Skill Management
    Das Erfassen von Fähigkeiten, finden von Mitarbeitenden mit bestimmten Kompetenzen sowie Erfassen von weiterbildungsinteressen und Qualifikationslücken gehört zu den zentralen Eigenschaften eines Skill Managements. Mehr dazu hier.
  • Employer Branding
    Die Arbeitgebermarke zB. auf Social Media stärken oder Besonderheiten der Unternehmenskultur auf der Unternehmenswebseite kommunizieren, dies sind nur zwei von vielen Möglichkeiten Employer Branding im Unternehmen zu stärken und so die Arbeitgebermarke zu stärken.
  • Weiterentwicklung
    Interne wie auch externe Weiter- bzw. Fortbildungen sorgen dafür, dass der Kompetenzzuwachs nicht nachlässt und die Talente/Begabungen gefördert werden. Mehr zur Planung von Fort- bzw. Weiterbildungen gibt es hier.

2 wesentliche Strategien im Talent Management

Im Wesentlichen kann zwischen zwei Ansätzen in der Strategie von Talentmanagement unterschieden werden.

High Potential Talent Management Strategie

Diese Strategie zielt darauf ab, fast ausschließlich talentierte Mitarbeitende zu identifizieren, zu fördern und zu halten. Die Talentförderung ist daher primär auf einen kleinen Personenkreis limitiert. Jener Personenkreis entspricht in der Regel Führungskräfte und Schlüsselfachkräfte mit besonderen Fähigkeiten, welche auf dem Arbeitsmarkt sehr gefragt sind und für die Erfüllung von Unternehmenszielen unverzichtbar sind. Personalentwicklungsmaßnahmen richten sich demnach primär an den Bedürfnissen jenes Personenkreises und vernachlässigen oftmals andere Mitarbeitende zu fördern und entwickeln.

Holistische Talent Management Strategie

Die holistische Talentmanagement Strategie befasst sich nicht wie die High Potential Strategie mit einem fokussierten Personenkreis, sondern mit allen Mitarbeitenden gleichermaßen. Im Fokus dieser Strategie stehen die Begabungen der einzelnen Mitarbeitenden und dessen individuelle Förderung. Als Begabung wird verstanden, dass Mitarbeitende überdurchschnittliche Leistungen in den einzelnen Disziplinen erreichen. Jene Begabungen/Talente sollen im Weiteren in unterschiedlichen Arbeitsprojekten berücksichtigt und genützt werden. Mitarbeitende werden bei dieser Talentmanagement Strategie oftmals persönlich eingebunden (Employee Engagement), etwa durch Befragungen in Mitarbeitergesprächen. Der holistische Talentmanagement Ansatz wird oft in agil strukturierten Organisationen angewandt.

Digitale Talent Management Systeme

Talent Management kann in vielen HR-Prozessen und Phasen digitalisiert werden. Wichtig dabei ist es, die passende Software für Talentmanagement zu finden. Nachdem die Talentförderung je nach Organisation unterschiedliche Schwerpunkte sowie Strategien haben kann, ist es oftmals eine Herausforderung, die passende Talentmanagement Software zu finden.

Im Folgenden werden 4 Kriterien für die passende Talent Management Software zusammengefasst.

  • Kann meine Talent Management Strategie abgedeckt werden?
    Ob High Potential, holistische oder eine andere Talentmanagement Strategie, vor dem Erwerb einer HR-Software, welche zur Talentförderung eingesetzt werden soll, muss ein Strategie-Ansatz gewählt werden. Oftmals wird jene Auswahl an Talentmanagement Strategie durch die vorhandene oder geplante Unternehmenskultur geprägt.
  • Welche Prozesse bzw. Phasen des Talent Managements kann ich bereits abbilden?
    Wie im Talent Management Modell dargestellt, gibt es unterschiedliche Phasen und Prozesse, welche durchlaufen werden können. Oftmals werden einige in Personalentwicklung bereits abgedeckt, bevor ein neues HR-System angeschafften wird. Daher ist es wichtig, alle Phasen des Talentmanagements durchzugehen und zu dokumentieren, welche Prozesse bereits unterstützt werden, um so die passende Ergänzung zu finden.
  • Welche Schnittstellen werden benötigt?
    Nachdem Talentmanagement ein vom Unternehmen individuell zusammengestellter Prozess ist und unterschiedliche Personalentwicklungsmaßnahmen erfordern kann, muss angedacht werden, welche Daten miteinander verknüpft werden sollen und wo etwaige Schnittstellen erforderlich sind.
  • Wie lässt sich der Verwaltungsaufwand reduzieren?
    Talente zu fördern, bedeutet auch zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen zu fördern. Denn nur Mitarbeitende die zufrieden mit ihrer Arbeitssituation und Arbeitsperspektive sind, bleiben dem Unternehmen treu. Zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen, ua. von Personalmanagern und Personalmanagerinnen, zu Mitarbeitenden sind notwendig, um Arbeitssituationen und Perspektiven zu verbessern bzw. anzupassen. Damit hierfür Zeit bleibt, bedarf es den Verwaltungsaufwand von Systemen auf ein Minimum zu halten.

So einfach kann Talent Management gehen.
Schau dir an wie clever es mit Skilltree geht.

success icon

Your download has started!

Why have an Excel matrix when you can have a whole tree?
Try Skilltree for free and start growing your skills.

14 days free | No credit card required

success icon

Dein Download ist gestarted!

Warum eine Excel Matrix wenn man gleich einen ganzen Baum haben kann?
Probiere Skilltree
gratis aus und wachse mit all deinen Fähigkeiten.

14 Tage kostenlos | Keine Kreditkarte erforderlich